Our Staff

 

Leadership Team

Kathleen Hatke Aro, JD

President

Kathleen was appointed president of Accounting Aid Society in 2004. She is an attorney with experience in both for-profit and nonprofit organizations. Under her leadership, Accounting Aid was named a “Best-Managed Nonprofit” by Crain’s Detroit Business. In 2012, Ms. Aro was named a “Shining Light” and honored with the Eleanor Josaitis Unsung Hero Award by the Detroit Free Press and the Metropolitan Affairs Coalition. She holds an MBA from the University of Michigan, a law degree from George Washington University, and a BA from Purdue University.

 

Gabrielle Thomas

Chief Operating Officer

Gabrielle became chief operating officer in 2015. She joined the agency’s development staff in 2005 and was promoted to director of development a year later. In 2012, she became director of operations and process improvement. In addition to development experience and business planning, Ms. Thomas has nine years of private sector experience in production supervision, project management and program development. She earned an MBA from University of Detroit-Mercy and a BS in Food Science from Michigan State University.

 

Harry Cook, CPA

Director, Finance and Administration

Harry joined the agency in 2014 after 15 years of experience handling accounting and property management for several small businesses. As director of finance and administration, Harry handles operations and HR, bookkeeping, facilities, technology, and oversees the call center. He has a BA in economics from the University of Detroit, and a master of science in accountancy from Walsh College. A Certified Public Accountant, Harry is also an adjunct instructor in accounting at Walsh College.

 

Angela Gabridge, CFRE

Director, Community Engagement

Angela joined Accounting Aid Society in September 2018. She has 13 years of experience in philanthropy, engagement and nonprofit leadership. Prior to joining the agency, she was deputy director of philanthropy for the ACLU of Michigan. Before joining the ACLU, Angela served as development director for several nonprofits and has successfully built and managed capital capacity and major gifts campaigns up to $45 million. She is a Certified Fundraising Executive.

 

Marshall J. Hunt, CPA

Director, Tax Policy and Advocacy

Marshall joined the staff of Accounting Aid in 2001 after 34 years of experience in tax administration with the IRS. Prior to joining the staff, he had been a tax volunteer for 20 years, including nine years on the agency’s board of directors. Mr. Hunt, a CPA since 1972, holds an MS in Taxation from Walsh College and a BBA from the University of Michigan-Dearborn. He has been an adjunct lecturer in the College of Business of the University of Michigan-Dearborn since 1986. Mr. Hunt has received many national and state awards for his work in helping to improve the lives of underserved households.

 

Team

Frances Bayer
Tax Site Coordinator
fbayer@accountingaidsociety.org

Vicky Billington
Communications Coordinator
vbillington@accountingaidsociety.org
Karen Bryant
Call Center Supervisor
kbryant@accountingaidsociety.org

Rachel Campbell, EA
Senior Small Business Analyst
rcampbell@accountingaidsociety.org

Shawn Goodwin
Call Center Representative
sgoodwin@accountingaidsociety.org
Carrie Grishaber
Volunteer Specialist
cgrishaber@accountingaidsociety.org
Kathy Holka
Senior Tax Policy Analyst and                Homebound Program Manager
kholka@accountingaidsociety.org

Janet Huntoon
Senior VITA Program Manager
jhuntoon@accountingaidsociety.org

Virginia Jackson
Administrative Assistant
vjackson@accountingaidsociety.org

Anastassia Kolosova, JD
LITC Christine A. Brunswick Public Service Fellow
akolosova@accountingaidsociety.org

Rhonda McCleese
Operations and Human Resources Manager
rmccleese@accountingaidsociety.org
Katie Migliazzo
Development Specialist
kmigliazzo@accountingaidsociety.org

Maria Mendez, EA
Senior Small Business Analyst
mmendez@accountingaidsociety.org

Ashley Mizzi, MBA
Director, Business Strategy and Innovation
amizzi@accountingaidsociety.org

Garylle Smith
VITA Program Manager
gsmith@accountingaidsociety.org

Samantha Spolarich
Marketing Specialist
sspolarich@accountingaidsociety.org
Willena Stiles, EA
LITC Program Manager
wstiles@accountingaidsociety.org
Lindsey Vaclav
Program Integration and Evaluation Manager
lvaclav@accountingaidsociety.org
Kassie Ward
Information Technology Coordinator
kward@accountingaidsociety.org

2018 Americorps Members