Our Staff

 

Leadership Team

Kathleen Hatke Aro, JD, MBA

President

Kathleen was appointed president of Accounting Aid Society in 2004. She is an attorney with experience in both for-profit and nonprofit organizations. Under her leadership, Accounting Aid was named a “Best-Managed Nonprofit” by Crain’s Detroit Business in both 2008 and 2020. In 2012, Kathleen was named a “Shining Light” and honored with the Eleanor Josaitis Unsung Hero Award by the Detroit Free Press and the Metropolitan Affairs Coalition. She holds an MBA from the University of Michigan, a law degree from George Washington University, and a BA from Purdue University.

Harry Cook, CPA

Director, Finance and Administration

Harry joined the agency in 2014 after 15 years of experience handling accounting and property management for several small businesses. As director of finance and administration, Harry handles operations and HR, bookkeeping, facilities, technology, and oversees the call center. He has a BA in economics from the University of Detroit, and a master of science in accountancy from Walsh College. A Certified Public Accountant, Harry is also an adjunct instructor in accounting at Walsh College.

Matthew H. Hetherwick, MBA

Director, Individual Tax Programs

Matt began his career at Accounting Aid Society in January of 2018 as a tax site coordinator and was promoted to the role of Director of Individual Tax Programs in 2019. He is a mission-driven finance and accounting leader with over 12 years of experience in the realms of finance, business and operations. After graduating with a bachelor’s degree in finance from Michigan State University, Matt earned both his masters degree in finance and MBA from the University of Michigan – Dearborn.

Jeremy Lewis

 Director, Accounting Aid Academy

Jeremy Lewis joined Accounting Aid Society in 2021. A native Detroiter, Jeremy has a unique corporate business development and community development background. After graduating from Hampton University in Virginia, he developed and managed client relationships in advertising sales roles in Atlanta, New York, and Chicago, respectively. He returned to Detroit in 2015 and combined his passion and connection to the city to support the work of neighborhood-focused small business community development in traditional and historically underserved communities. He has since earned a Master of Community Development from the University of Detroit Mercy.

Gabrielle Thomas, MBA

Chief Operating Officer

Gabrielle became chief operating officer in 2015. She joined the agency’s development staff in 2005 and was promoted to director of development a year later. In 2012, she became director of operations and process improvement. In addition to development experience and business planning, Gabrielle has nine years of private sector experience in production supervision, project management and program development. She earned an MBA from University of Detroit-Mercy and a BS in Food Science from Michigan State University.

 

Team

Frances Bayer, CPA
LITC Associate
fbayer@accountingaidsociety.org

Karen Bryant
Call Center Supervisor
kbryant@accountingaidsociety.org

Rachel Campbell, EA
Small Business Financial Analyst
rcampbell@accountingaidsociety.org

Lisa M. Day
Small Business Accountant
lday@accountingaidsociety.org

Michelle Denton
Tax Site Coordinator 
mdenton@accountingaidsociety.org

Dennis T. Dolbee, CPA
Director, LITC Clinic
ddolbee@accountingaidsociety.org

Batoul Fardous
Tax Site Coordinator
bfardous@accountingaidsociety.org

Shawn Goodwin
Call Center Representative
sgoodwin@accountingaidsociety.org

Tracy Ivory Grasty
Finance and Human Resources Assistant
tgrasty@accountingaidsociety.org

Sa Harris
Tax Site Coordinator
sharris@accountingaidsociety.org

Kathy Holka
Senior Tax Policy Analyst and Homebound Program Manager
kholka@accountingaidsociety.org

Marshall J. Hunt, CPA
Certifying Acceptance Agent
mjhunt@accountingaidsociety.org

Virginia Jackson
Administrative Assistant
vjackson@accountingaidsociety.org

Miranda Marras
Executive Assistant
mmarras@accountingaidsociety.org

Rhonda McCleese
Operations and Human Resources Manager
rmccleese@accountingaidsociety.org

Katie Migliazzo
Marketing and Communications Strategist
kmigliazzo@accountingaidsociety.org

Maria Mendez, EA
Small Business Accountant
mmendez@accountingaidsociety.org

Austin O’Neil
Tax Site Coordinator
aoneil@accountingaidsociety.org

Maysaa Rahal
VITA Supervisor
mrahal@accountingaidsociety.org

Maria Rybachek
VITA Supervisor
mrybachek@accountingaidsociety.org

Samantha Spolarich
VITA Supervisor
sspolarich@accountingaidsociety.org

Mary Travier
Tax Site Coordinator
mtravier@accountingaidsociety.org

Chelsea Vitale
VITA Supervisor
cvitale@accountingaidsociety.org

Kassie Ward
Information Technology Coordinator
kward@accountingaidsociety.org

Betsy Zobl-Tar
Grants Strategist
ezobltar@accountingaidsociety.org