Our Staff

 

Leadership Team

Kathleen Hatke Aro, JD

President

Kathleen was appointed president of Accounting Aid Society in 2004. She is an attorney with experience in both for-profit and nonprofit organizations. Under her leadership, Accounting Aid was named a “Best-Managed Nonprofit” by Crain’s Detroit Business. In 2012, Ms. Aro was named a “Shining Light” and honored with the Eleanor Josaitis Unsung Hero Award by the Detroit Free Press and the Metropolitan Affairs Coalition. She holds an MBA from the University of Michigan, a law degree from George Washington University, and a BA from Purdue University.

Gabrielle Thomas

Chief Operating Officer

Gabrielle became chief operating officer in 2015. She joined the agency’s development staff in 2005 and was promoted to director of development a year later. In 2012, she became director of operations and process improvement. In addition to development experience and business planning, Ms. Thomas has nine years of private sector experience in production supervision, project management and program development. She earned an MBA from University of Detroit-Mercy and a BS in Food Science from Michigan State University.

Marshall J. Hunt, CPA

Director, Tax Policy and Advocacy

Marshall joined the staff of Accounting Aid in 2001 after 34 years of experience in tax administration with the IRS. Prior to joining the staff, he had been a tax volunteer for 20 years, including nine years on the agency’s board of directors. Mr. Hunt, a CPA since 1972, holds an MS in Taxation from Walsh College and a BBA from the University of Michigan-Dearborn. He has been an adjunct lecturer in the College of Business of the University of Michigan-Dearborn since 1986. Mr. Hunt has received many national and state awards for his work in helping to improve the lives of underserved households.

Team

Frances Bayer
Senior Business Services Consultant
fbayer@accountingaidsociety.org
Vicky Billington
Marketing and Communications Coordinator
vbillington@accountingaidsociety.org
Karen Bryant
Call Center Supervisor
kbryant@accountingaidsociety.org
Rachel Campbell
Senior Business Services Consultant
rcampbell@accountingaidsociety.org
Harry Cook
Controller
hcook@accountingaidsociety.org
Shawn Goodwin
Call Center Representative
sgoodwin@accountingaidsociety.org
Sangwan Harris
Tax Site Supervisor
sharris@accountingaidsociety.org
Emily Hodge
Volunteer Coordinator
ehodge@accountingaidsociety.org
Kathy Holka
Senior Tax Policy Analyst and                Homebound Program Manager
kholka@accountingaidsociety.org
Janet Huntoon
VITA Program Manager
jhuntoon@accountingaidsociety.org
Virginia Jackson
Tax Program and Administrative Assistant
vjackson@accountingaidsociety.org
Jonathan Klar
AmeriCorps Member
jklar@accountingaidsociety.org
Robert Maguire
Tax Site Supervisor
rmaguire@accountingaidsociety.org
Rhonda McCleese
Operations Manager
rmccleese@accountingaidsociety.org
Maria Mendez
Senior Business Services Consultant
mmendez@accountingaidsociety.org
Katie Migliazzo
Development Specialist
kmigliazzo@accountingaidsociety.org

Ashley Mizzi
Director, Business Strategy and Innovation
amizzi@accountingaidsociety.org

Lakenia Payne
AmeriCorps Member
lpayne@accountingaidsociety.org
Maysaa Rahal
Tax Site Supervisor
mrahal@accountingaidsociety.org
Garylle Smith
VITA Program Assistance and
Floating Tax Site Coordinator
gsmith@accountingaidsociety.org
Samantha Spolarich
Marketing Associate
sspolarich@accountingaidsociety.org
Willena Stiles, EA
LITC Program Manager
wstiles@accountingaidsociety.org
Shaukat Surti
Tax Site Supervisor
ssurti@accountingaidsociety.org
Diamond Tyus
AmeriCorps Member
dtyus@accountingaidsociety.org
Lindsey Vaclav
Financial Capability Manager
lvaclav@accountingaidsociety.org
Kassie Ward
Information Technology Coordinator
kward@accountingaidsociety.org
Shawnnon Williams
AmeriCorps Member
swilliams@accountingaidsociety.org